Evan Lysacek Named 2010 James E. Sullivan Award Winner

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - 2010 Olympic figure skating champion Evan Lysacek (Naperville, Ill.) was announced as the 2010 Sullivan Award winner at the New York Athletic Club in New York City on March 14. Presented annually since 1930 by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU), the award salutes the most outstanding U.S. amateur athlete of the year based on athletic accomplishments, leadership skills, character and sportsmanship. It is also a tribute to the AAU's founder and past president, James E. Sullivan, who was a pioneer in amateur sports.

"It's humbling to see my name amongst those on the impressive list of past Sullivan Award winners, especially Sarah Hughes who has always inspired me in my own skating," said Lysacek. "I'm honored to receive this distinction and would like to thank the AAU for selecting me for this award."

"Evan is an outstanding ambassador for the United States and the Olympic Movement worldwide," said USOC CEO Scott Blackmun . "In Vancouver, he demonstrated courage, determination, and sheer athletic talent to win the United States' first gold medal in men's figure skating since 1988. But even more inspiring was Evan's conduct off of the ice. He was the essence of sportsmanship, accepting his title with grace and poise, and reminding us all what the Olympic Games are really about. On behalf of the U.S. Olympic family, congratulations, Evan, and thank you for being such an outstanding role model."

Lysacek, who accepted the USOC Sportsman of the Year award earlier this year, won the Sullivan Award over a strong field of finalists, including Regina Jacquess (Santa Rosa Beach, Fla.), water skiing; Tahnee Robinson (Fort Washakie, Wy.), basketball; DJ Williams (Little Rock, Ark.), football; and Karrissa Wimberley (Tallahassee, Fla.), baton twirling. For more information on the finalists, visit http://aaunews.org/news/?p=4321.

Known as the "Oscar" of sports awards and older than the National Football League's Heisman Trophy,recipients of the James E. Sullivan Award include prominent athletes from many sport disciplines, and the U.S. Olympic family has been well represented.

Of the 81 Sullivan Award winners, 76 are members of the U.S. Olympic family and represent the following sports: baseball, basketball, diving, figure skating, gymnastics, rowing, speedskating, swimming, tennis, track and field, and wrestling.

Lysacek is the first Olympian since gymnast Shawn Johnson (Des Moines, Iowa), 2009, to win the Sullivan Award and one of four figure skaters. Other figure skaters include Dick Button, 1949; Michelle Kwan, 2001; and Sarah Hughes, 2002.

For a full list of Sullivan Award winners, visit http://www.aausullivan.org/winners.html.

Return to title page